RSS

Twisted Rooster in Grand Rapids!

26 Jul

Here we go again – we’ve driven by The Twisted Rooster about a bazillion times and due to a conversation had at work last week, we finally stopped in to see if all the good things we’d heard were true. I had pretty high expectations going in, and they were met and exceeded. We hit the restaurant a bit before 1 o’clock last Saturday, and were seated right away.
The ambiance is open and comfortable – I felt right at home here. Nate was our server and he did an outstanding job – one of the best servers I’ve ever encountered – thanks, Nate! I only got a couple of pics, but you get the idea. The batter on both the chicken fingers and the grouper was amazing – perfect balance of flavor and crispiness. The tartar sauce on the grouper sandwich is homemade on premises, and had the perfect hint of garlic that made it unique and quite delicious. I can’t wait to go back and try the fish tacos Nate suggested. I’ll post up again after our next visit, but for now, great job, Twisted Rooster!


Mrs. Snausy asked me to mention that the fries here are “real” – not double-fried or batter-coated – just honest-to-goodness real french fries. I enjoyed them too, and the portions were huge. Can’t wait to go back!
Twisted Rooster on Urbanspoon

 
5 Comments

Posted by on July 26, 2012 in Restaurant Reviews!

 

5 responses to “Twisted Rooster in Grand Rapids!

  1. bluefoodie

    July 26, 2012 at 4:19 pm

    I can’t believe you guys are just now going! They are delicious and Mitten made! You should try their twisted Mac and Cheese if you like white cheddar and their fish tacos.. so good. They are fresh and local! Total bonus. They do change their menu every few season which is nice.. but now I can’t get my fav – steak salad. You should try their cousin Crooked Goose.. They just opened!

     
    • chefsnausy

      July 26, 2012 at 7:27 pm

      Yeah, we both kinda laughed about not having checked this place out sooner. I think we were scared off because we heard it was expensive – but my Grouper sandwich was only $8.50 – I think it’s worth twice that! I appreciate that they’re “farm to table” as much as possible – so cool. Will definitely check out Crooked Goose – thanks for the tip, and for checking out this post!

       
  2. sachemspeaks

    August 13, 2012 at 7:15 pm

    Grouper! Where did you get the grouper Chef?
    Good fish, not as good as New England Cod but good fish.

     
    • chefsnausy

      August 14, 2012 at 1:44 pm

      The grouper in this post was served in Grand Rapids, Michigan, but not sure where it came from. I’ve had good grouper when dining out near the Gulf of Mexico, too. I wish I could taste some New England Cod – it sounds like very good fish!

       
  3. sachemspeaks

    August 16, 2012 at 6:25 pm

    Chef my friend, never get hung up on the spelling of a name as far an our people are concerned remember, all of these names are spelled however that person taking a census thinks a Native American was saying!
    This European doing that census was the last white person wanting anything to do with our people while doing that job, and may or may not had any type of education!
    I would like to know more about your ancestors, like what state and how far back you traced, if you are interested?
    Remember, I am only asking as a conversation, I am not interested in blood quote’s or blood line just as a friendly request for information.

     

Leave a Reply

 
