RSS

Just for The Halibut!

22 Aug

So a guy walks up to me as I’m standing in the stream, waving my flyrod around like a blind idiot, and asks “What are you fishing for?” And I subtly reply…wait…”I’m fishing for the Halibut!” Don’t get it? Then you probably don’t fish….

This was my first time baking Halibut – it really helps when you are given a GIGANTICAL filet that came directly from Alaska. It also helps when your Sous Chef gives inspired guidance and can make home-made potato salad that’s beyond description.

I have to say the flavor of this fish is mild, delicate, and sumptuously comforting. Dredged in milk then coated in a mixture of Panko bread crumbs (seasoned with secret spices – I’ll tell if you ask…) and baked to flaky perfection, this Halibut steak was probably some of the best fish I’ve ever eaten. Served up with a side of freshly made home-made potato salad made with organic mayo from Trader Joe’s – a Sunday dinner to write home about!!

Mega-thanks goes out to the gifter of this exquisite slice of heaven…you know who you are!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 22, 2011 in Home Cooking!

 

Leave a Reply

 
