RSS

Malarkey’s Tomato Bisque!

29 Jul

Malarkey’s, located at the East Beltline and 196, is a cozy sports bar/restaurant that features live music several nights a week and boasts a fine menu of american food.

I’ve tried the soup and salad combos, and their sandwiches are good – not Zingerman’s Deli good, but good.

What I go for is the tomato bisque! This is some of the best tomato bisque I’ve ever eaten. It’s got a reputation in town for being something special. I’ve tried to get the recipe, but the waiters apparently have all been sworn to secrecy. There are ingredients in this bisque that I can’t figure out – so I’ve given up trying to reproduce it. It’s got a beautiful creamy texture, with delicate flavors that really let the tomatoes shine through. The mouthfeel is exquisite…the secret ingredients they use give the bisque some body – I’m almost wondering if they use hominy or something like it to give it it’s sensuous, velvety texture.

I’ve finally come to terms with the fact that I just can’t make this the way Malarkey’s does – so whenever I’m craving the perfect tomato bisque – I head over to Malarkey’s. Check it out – you won’t be disappointed!

Malarky's on Urbanspoon

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 29, 2011 in Restaurant Reviews!

 

One response to “Malarkey’s Tomato Bisque!

  1. chefsnausy

    December 28, 2012 at 5:10 pm

    Secret ingredients – spinach and orzo! They finally listed them on their most recent menu. May have to try making this one at home now!

     

Leave a Reply

 
