RSS

Grace Young’s "Stir Frying to the Sky’s Edge" – a James Beard award-winning cookbook!

29 Jun

I recently purchased a new hand-hammered carbon steel 14″ wok for my home kitchen, and after it arrived I thought “Gee, maybe there’s a decent Stir Fry cookbook out there that I should get, too.” Well, this is the book I got, and I’m SO glad I got this one! Not only does Grace Young describe what type of wok to purchase, she also gives a lot more information about woks in general, and even helps you shop for ingredients so your pantry is “wok-friendly.” You can tell from her writing that Grace is passionate about cooking with her wok…and understands the spirit of not only her wok but the food cooked in it.

I have to say this is by far one of the best cookbooks I own. The stories about her cooking/dining experiences bring the recipes alive, and the entire book is presented in such a way that both the beginner and the expert will find something of great value inside it’s cover. The section on wok accessories is spot on, and her thoughtful treatises regarding wok care and maintenance have helped me to gain a new appreciation for this cooking implement and style of cooking.

I highly recommend this cookbook – buy it even if you don’t own a wok – but be forewarned…after reading it you are going to want to stir fry everything!

Thanks, Grace!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 29, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Grace Young’s "Stir Frying to the Sky’s Edge" – a James Beard award-winning cookbook!

  1. Bobby Jones

    September 7, 2011 at 3:26 pm

    This cookbook rocks – go buy one today!

     

Leave a Reply

 
