RSS

I am NOT a Chef!

23 Jan

Recently, I’ve been reading a book by Anthony Bourdain called “Medium Raw”, and it’s made me feel like I should disclaim myself a bit more thoroughly.  I an NOT a true Chef, at least in the truest sense of Chef as the term applies in the culinary world.  Self-proclaimed foodie and home cook I am…but if I had to run a restaurant as true Chefs do, I’d probably be in way over my head.  So now that we’ve got that little item cleared up…

Image

READ THIS BOOK!!  Sorry for shouting, but Tony’s take on several culinary topics are just so very worth the read.  He sums up Michael Pollan’s The Omnivore’s Dilemma so accurately that I would recommend his chapter on “Meat” as required reading in every school in America.  So without a lot of fanfare, go out and pick up a copy of this book – you’ll be thanking me after you’re done with it, I assure you!  Here’s a link to where you can purchase the book – http://www.amazon.com/Medium-Raw-Bloody-Valentine-People/dp/0061718955

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 23, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “I am NOT a Chef!

  1. sachemspeaks

    January 28, 2013 at 9:40 pm

    Bob
    As a retired gas service tech among other things, I have been in hundreds of thousands of kitchens in many restaurants and believe me you do not want the Chef job! That said, you and I can cook up a storm for our better half and friends NO?
    My turn to cook today, Barbecue chicken cooked out on the grill, corn on the cob with her favorite potatoes little dish of chocolate ice cream after, coming soon!

     
    • chefsnausy

      January 29, 2013 at 8:05 pm

      I worked in food service many many years ago – it’s hard work, long hours, and not very good pay. The intangible rewards are many, but this old “pseudo-chef” will remain satisfied doing exactly what you said, Sachem – cooking for our better halves and friends, for sure! Bon appetit!
      Your dinner sounds wonderful!

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

